Birthday Cake Challenge: Smarties & Reeses Peanut Butter Cup

Birthday Cake Challenge: Smarties & Reeses Peanut Butter Cup

2016 is in full swing and so is cake life…

Smarties

As one of my new years’ goals (not resolutions!) I decided to challenge myself, and really invest some time in one of my favourite hobbies…baking! After reading an article by the Crumbs & Dollies founder, and the Hubby giving me a pep talkย – I decided that this year, rather than buying all of my good friends retail presents, I will bake them a homemade cake. But I won’t just bake them any old homemade cake, I will ensure that it’s like no other cake that they have ever had, and so the Birthday Cake Challenge was born!!! So here’s my first homemade gift…A Smarties Cake finished with Chocolate fingers (above & below).

Smarties-Pre

Although this is not entirely original, I wanted to see if I could pull it off in a nice way, and it certainly seem to do the trick as my friend thought it was shop bought! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Reeses Peanut

Up next…was a friend who adores Reeses Peanut Butter Cup, so I thought surely that can be turned into a magnificent cake! And this little beauty was born (above)…I opted for a chocolate and peanut butter cake covered in peanut butter frosting and Reeses Peanut Butter Cups. Again my friend was quite amazed that I managed to cram so much flavour into one cake, but that’s just an absolute must!ย 

So after my first 2 attempts, the challenge is now to think up what I will do next for the next Birthday Cake Challenge which I’m thoroughly enjoying! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

